Delhi Capitals extended Royal Challengers Bangalore’s winless streak to record 0-6 defeat

Delhi Capitals extended Royal Challengers Bangalore's winless

Kagiso Rabada finished his spell with impressive figures of 4 for 21 on a two-paced wicket which kept RCB to a below-par total of 149, while Shreyas Iyer top scored with 67 runs as Delhi Capitals registered a fairly comfortable four-victory against Royal Challengers Bangalore in match 20 of VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 at M Chinnaswamy stadium. The victory leads Delhi Capitals to the fifth spot on the points table with three wins and three losses from six games while Royal Challengers Bangalore with sixth consecutive defeat remains at the bottom of the table.

* As it Happened:

Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to field first. Despite being devasted by Andre Russell from a couple of nights back, Kohli side played with unchanged playing XI. As put into bat first Royal Challengers Bangalore got off to a bad start. Parthiv Patel slogged hard at a length delivery of Chris Morris but only managed to get an outside edge to Sandeep Lamichhane in the second over of innings. The AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli partnership this time yielded only 24 runs as Young Rabada on the last ball of the powerplay overs dismissed his national teammate AB de Villiers on 17. Despite Virat Kohli held one end the runs were coming only in one and twos. In the 9th over Marcus Stoinis on 15 too sent back to the pavilion by Axar Patel. England All-rounder looked impressive hitting three sixes but was dismissed by Nepali spinner Sandeep Lamichhane on 32.

With the ball not coming on to the bat, Kohli scored almost a-run-a-ball before hitting two sixes late in his innings to Sandeep Lamichhane one in the slot and the second very shot ball. However, Kagiso Rabada then came alive in the next over as he started by getting Kohli (41 off 33) caught at long-on on the first ball of eighteenth over before dismissing Akshdeep Nath and Pawan Negi caught behind by Rishab Pant off on the Third and Sixth delivery respectively. Kagiso Rabada ended his spell on impressive figures of 4-0-21-4, while RCB just managed to 149/8.

In the Second innings chasing 150 runs for the victory, Delhi Capitals got off to a bad start as Tim Southee dismissed Shikhar Dhawan for a golden duck in the third ball of very first over. However, Prithvi Shaw took five consecutive boundaries in Tim Southee’s very next over to settle the nerves. Prithvi Shaw (28) put up a 68-run partnership for the second wicket with Skipper Shreyas Iyer before Pawan Negi sent him back in the ninth over. Skipper Shreyas Iyer then shared 39 runs with Colin Ingram (22), who blasted two fours and a six in his 21-ball stay before Moeen Ali dismissed him in the 13th over.

However, Shreyas Iyer who raised his fifty off 37 balls proceeded to add 37 more runs with Rishabh Pant to take his team to inside contacting separation of victory. With only five runs required for the win, Iyer left in the eighteenth over as Navdeep Saini grabbed two wickets sending back Chris Morris to bring back recollections of Delhi’s breakdown against Kings XI Punjab. Rishabh Pant discarding his wicket in the following over didn’t make things any better.. But thanks to Axar Patel for smashing a boundary as Delhi capitals held on to register their fairly comfortable third win of the season.

* The Game Changer:

Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore were set for a big finish with an in-form Kohli at the crease in the 18th over but Kagiso Rabada picked up three wickets to ensure RCB finish with a below-par total on a beautiful batting pitch. Conceding only five runs in the 18th over young Rabada dismissed Virat Kohli, Akshdeep Nath, Pawan Negi and turn the match in their favour in just one over.

* Brief Score:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 149/8.

(Virat Kohli 41, Moeen Ali 32, Kagiso Rabada 4-0-21-4)    

Delhi Capitals: 152/6 – 18.5 overs.

(Shreyas Iyer 69, Navdeep Saini 4-0-24-2)

* Man of the Match:

Kagiso Rabada.

* Match Stats:

Kagiso Rabada’s “Four for Twenty-One” were his best bowling figures in T20 cricket.